Sunday, December 12, 2010

V/A - Rebuilding Compilation (CD) Temperance Records #TEMP#3 1992

To complete the No Escape discography and me being too lazy to rip vinyl records I choose the path which is easiest: the CD rerelease of the split 7" (both No Escape songs are on the album), rebuilding compilation and two songs from the forever compilation. I never understood why they didn't include the Born Against, Citizens Arrest and Rorschach songs. Some months ago I read a blog posting stating that this CD version is more ugly than the LP version - kids, it isn't: there are two vinyl versions. One looks exactly like the CD version and the green 12" version looks awful (picture proof will follow) - but I do not have any pressing infos (maybe someone can help out).

The metal guitar part starting around 1:25 in "Silence" is so great, after being played four times it is used as theme modified afterwards. I love such gimmicks.

I am quite sure that these are the best Turning Point songs (before becoming the beautiful Godspeed and Shadow Season) and maybe the same goes for "Drown" by Burn. Who says Lost and Found is sloppy: titled "Drawn" here.

Important side note: No Escape's "Silence" was released together with the Big Boys cover on one of those Lost And Found nonsense split 7" records - in this case with Bonesaw. The Burn songs are on a split 7" with Prison and the Gorilla Biscuits can be found on one of the compilation CDs by L&F. I suppose they have licenced all the Temperance stuff around that time (same goes for Overkill Records).

V/A - Rebuilding Compilation (CD) Temperance Records #TEMP#3 1992

1. Turning Point - Broken
2. Burn - Drawn
3. Gorilla Biscuits - Biscuit Power
4. No Escape - Silence
5. Turning Point - Insecurity
6. Burn - Decay
7. Turning Point - Thursday
8. Turning Point - Behind This Wall
9. Turning Point - Anxiety Asking
10. No Escape - Framework
11. No Escape - Guilty
12. No Escape - No
[MP3, 320kb, password: antithesis, mirror 1, mirror 2]

NO ESCAPE - Just Accept It (CD) Lost And Found Records #276 1997

This is the Lost And Found version of No Escape's fulllength - compared to the original CD version which has the LP followed by the demo songs, this version just has all songs leaving the doublets. It was released when their singer Tim Singer (needs to have a new band!!!) already left Deadguy and joined Kiss It Goodbye - I hope the band received some bucks for this one.
Like many L & F releases it just sounds better then the original - remastered or using the newest computer compressors at that time most of the label's releases sound better than the originals or even newer or regular rereleases (I will post some examples in the future) - I wrote this a thousand times before. Recorded in 1993 for me this just blew away everything else what was known for noisy slowed down hardcore - okay not counting Rorschach etc.
Maybe the most distinctive part is still the lyrics: personal, prosaic, nihilistic and yes, sometimes drippy - but please consider the age of the band members. 2010 and I can still somehow relate to them - mission accomplished by the artist.
My favourite tracks are "Left Hanging" starting with a beautiful bass solo, followed by the dry toms and "No Question" (Quicksand, Helmet and Burn jamming together?).
Considering Singer's artwork for all his other bands I still don't get it why this release looks that shitty - in best Lost And Found manner. The booklet just looks just horrible and the tracklist on the tray says "Left Handing" instead of "Left Hanging" and "Falling" became "Failling" [sic!].

Name me another early 90ies hardcore band covering the Big Boys?!

"Don't leave me hanging don't say goodbye"

NO ESCAPE - Just Accept It (CD) Lost And Found Records #276 1997

1. Falling
2. Just Accept It
3. Bed of Nails
4. Left Hanging
5. No Question
6. Time Bomb
7. Downtime
8. Framework
9. Guilty
10. No (BIG BOYS)
11. Thread
12. Blind
13. Search
[MP3, 320k, password: antithesis, mirror 1, mirror 2]

Posting of the original Overkill Records release
Review of this version
No Escape at the new, ugly Myspace

Tuesday, December 07, 2010

NO ESCAPE - demo (Tape) self released ca. 1990

After years just listening to bad tape dubs - or later as mp3 when the Contrast Records site had a huger audio section (there used to be the demo once) - I finally got it (thanks Gonzo). For many these are their best songs together with the split 7" stuff - most of my friends do not like the album1. The production - it's a demo! - is not the best and there is a lot of tape noise/ distortion, but you can easily get the direction this band was going in 1990..... Burn, Grunge, Youth Crew bands slowing down in sound, Amphetamine Reptile Records, ABC No Rio bands... it's all there, but quite unique in my opinion. Still lacks the power of the album so I do not get the people who prefer this demo to anything the band has done later.

NO ESCAPE - demo (Tape) self released ca. 1990

side a:
1. Falling
2. Thread
3. Blind

side b:
1. Search
2. Guilty
[MP32, 320k, password: antithesis, mirror 1, mirror 2]

No Escape at

1 Two songs ended up rerecorded on the album.

2 you can stop sending those gumbo mails now

Monday, June 21, 2010

THE NOTORIOUS LOVE AFFAIR - rough mix (Tape) self released 1996

Two years ago I did a The Notorious Love Affair posting and now another member contacted me about the unreleased song - acutally there are two unreleased songs!!! Old-timer Markus Haas from Per Koro1 has sent me a huge box with old demo tapes, rough mixes etc.. Among those was the cassette I was longing for: the rough mix of their recordings including two songs which did not make it onto the 7" record. As good as the four songs on the vinyl just the mix of all songs is still a bit weaker and less powerful than on the actual release.

Nice start to reactivated the blog again. Two years after the mentioned posting, one year after the last posting. Next one is in about ten years... ah, and sorry, I didn't see Total Abuse on Berlin's streets but it's a comical story anyway.

THE NOTORIOUS LOVE AFFAIR - rough mix (Tape) self released 1996

side a:
1. Autist
2. Blutlicht/ Erntedank
3. Panic
4. Wundenlecken
5. I am the song my enemy sings
6. T.G.A.
[OGG Vorbis, maximum quality, password: antithesis, mirror 1, mirror 2]

The Notorious Love Affair @

1 how's the shithole?